2011 Rewind

Inspired by the copy of The Wire that has just dropped through my letterbox, I thought it would be fun (if slightly narcissistic) to compile my own ‘review of the year in sound and music.’

Releases of the Year

Battles Gloss Drop (Warp)
Guy Birkin Symmetry-Breaking (Runningonair Music)
Jon Brooks Music For Dieter Rams (Cafe Kaput)
John Chantler The Luminous Ground (Room40)
Death In Vegas Trans-Love Energies (Portobello Records)
Taylor Deupree + Marcus Fischer In A Place Of Such Graceful Shapes (12k)
Mark Fell Manitutshu* (Editions Mego)
Friendly Fires Pala (XL Recordings)
Lone Echolocations EP (R&S)
Samiyam Sam Baker’s Album (Brainfeeder)
Stephen Sharp/Roc Jiménez de Cisneros Rave Synthesis Approximations of György Ligeti’s Continuum (Sound Proof 4)
Tom Waits Bad As Me (Anti)
John Wall/Alex Rodgers Work 2006-2011 (Entr’acte)
Wolves In The Throne Room Celestial Lineage (Southern Lord)
Yasunao Tone MP3 Deviations #6+7 (Editions Mego)

Archive Releases of the Year

Taylor Deupree Focux (Lantern)
Disco Inferno The 5 EPs (One Little Indian)
Dicky Landry Fifteen Saxophones (Unseen Worlds)
LFO Frequencies (Warp)
Primal Scream Screamadelica (20th Anniversary Limited Collector’s Edition) (Sony Music)



  1. Guy

    It’s been a while since I last read your blog. What a nice surprise to find my album amongst such good company in your list! Thank you. Looking forward to hearing your album on Runningonair too!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s